Flowers and Figurines – Week #4

Flashback - talksweettome.com

Originally posted March 17-21, 2008

This was a short 4-day week since in Australia, Good Friday and Easter Monday are both public holidays. It was frustrating to only have four days this week, especially when Monday and Tuesday felt like I had my feet stuck in the mud and was moving in slow motion. That’s the thing about public holidays and working in this business…you still have to get the same amount of work done, you just have four days to do it instead of five. Seriously, who needs public holidays anyway, when your job is making cakes!?

I only had two cakes this week:
-2-Tier Madhatter Figurine cake
-2-Tier piping and flowers cake

Both of these cakes had unusual timing. The Madhatter was due out on Tuesday, and the other was due out the following Tuesday after Easter. Planet Cake was closed for the holidays, which meant it had to be done before I left on Thursday. So the middle of the week had a bit of a lull, but there was plenty of flower-making and figurine-making to keep me busy.

Madhatter Figurine Cake

Because of the funny timing on this cake, it ended up being a group effort. Handi made the dancing figurines and their dancing cat (while I ganached most of his cakes for the week), and Anna-Maria helped me with ganacheing, covering the top tier, and covering the board. The rest was me. Placing the stripes:

Placing stripes on madhatter cake - Talk Sweet to Me

Antony’s design drawing:

Dancing figurines design drawing - Talk Sweet to Me

And the finished cake:

Dancing couple madhatter wedding cake - Talk Sweet to Me

Flowers

During the middle of the week, I worked on extending the flowers that Handi started and working on a few hibiscus flowers for next week.

Sugar Flowers - Talk Sweet to Me

Handi made us some pancakes! They were flying through the air on Wednesday.

Handi flipping pancake - Talk Sweet to Me

Handi makes pancakes - Talk Sweet to Me

I also started working on a sugar figurine wedding couple (my first venture into working on a bride and groom), which I’ll reveal next week when they are complete and fully clothed!

Piping and Flowers

The piping on this cake took me quite a long time. It was the first time I’ve done detailed piping on a cake at Planet Cake, and I was fairly happy with the result (though there is always room for improvement). Here is Antony’s design drawing…

Flower cake design drawing - Talk Sweet to Me

…and the finished cake.

Pastel flowers wedding cake - Talk Sweet to Me

One thing I can say in critique of myself as I look at the photo is that I wish the flowers on top had a bit more of a half-round, dome shape. They are, unfortunately, slightly on the flattened side. Something to keep in mind for next time.

There has been quite a bit of excitement in the media recently about Planet Cake. An article was printed in the Sun-Herald a few weeks ago about children’s birthday cakes. Here is the article:

Newspaper article on expensive cakes - Talk Sweet to Me

And below is a close-up of the Baby Pool cake picture that has my figurine from Week #1 on it! I covered the cake too, but Handi did the rest of the work – carving and ganacheing the cake, the decoration, piping the board, etc.

Pool cake figurine in newspaper - Talk Sweet to Me

This article set off a flurry of media activity. Paris has been busy with several radio, tv, and newspaper interviews in the past few weeks, one of which was with Steve Price on 2UE radio station. Steve gave Paris a pretty hard time about the cost of the cakes, so she sent him a life-size, realistic cake of his face (produced by Margie). All he could say was, “You’ve got to be kidding me. That’s extraordinary.” You betcha.

Signature - TalkSweetToMe.com

Leave a Reply

