Cakes for Kids – Birthdays, Baptisms, and More

The following was originally posted on my first blog, The Planet Cake Intern, as I learned the art of cake decorating and began putting together the very first pieces of my cake business in Kansas City. 

Flashback - talksweettome.com

I have a file of cake photos that were completed at Planet Cake in my pre-blog time there, so thought I would share them. Here they are:

12th Birthday Cake

This client has the same cake design for their child’s birthday but with different numbers every year.

12 Birthday Cake - Talk Sweet to Me

Paint Palette Cake (Note: this photo is from the Planet Cake website…mine was exactly the same but you must imagine magenta writing on the board and of course a different name):

Paint Palette Cake

Doll Dress Cake

Doll dress cake - Talk Sweet to Me

Baby Petals Cake

I will be eternally embarassed by the piping on this one but will put my reputation on the line, noting that this was some of my earlier work, and share it anyway. It wasn’t centered and it bugged me, so I made some swirls. They look really silly, and I could have moved a few flowers and turned the figurine instead of worrying too much about the piping being centered. Live and learn! (Figurine by Handi, I think.)

Little girl figurine cake with petals - Talk Sweet to Me

3-D Number Cake

1st Birthday Cake - Talk Sweet to Me

Shabby Chic Cupcakes

These remain a favorite of mine.

Shabby chic cupcakes - Talk Sweet to Me

Pram Christening Cake (Pram – so cute! – by Handi)

Pram Christening Cake - Talk Sweet to Me

Signature - TalkSweetToMe.com

Leave a Reply

