A Golf Themed Birthday Cake

The following was originally posted on my first blog, The Planet Cake Intern, as I learned the art of cake decorating and began putting together the very first pieces of my cake business in Kansas City. 

Flashback - talksweettome.com

Originally posted April 28, 2008

This week was a challenge because I had two cakes to complete and didn’t have the equipment I was used to or the cake and icing which used to magically appear at Planet Cake after Anna Maria ordered it. I know that’s obvious, but seriously, it was harder than I thought it was going to be. I have been running around town like a crazy-person trying to find all the supplies I need in order to make Planet Cake-style cakes from home. Both of my Grandpas had birthdays in early spring this year, so I returned just in time to get myself into the kitchen.

One of the main differences between making cakes here and making cakes at Planet Cake was that I had to make the cake myself. From scratch…making cakes from a box is cheating, but that’s just my oh-so-humble opinion. At Planet Cake it was really convenient to have everything dropped off from the bakers…something I appreciate even more now! I spent the entire day on Monday baking cake. 3 – 9×13 pans of vanilla butter cake, and 3 – 8” round layers of chocolate stout cake.

I used the chocolate stout cake for my Grandpa M’s cake. He likes to golf, so I wanted to make my own version of the normal Planet Cake golf cake for him…with a Grandpa figurine on the putting green.

I started with the 8” round layers…

Starting cake project - Talk Sweet to Me

…and cut them to shape.

Carving cake - Talk Sweet to Me

Then it was time to cover and decorate the cake:

Covered golf cake - Talk Sweet to Me

Golf cake - Talk Sweet to Me

Then it was on to the figurine!

Here is the picture of my Grandpa I worked from:

Grandpa picture

And the finished figurine:

Grandpa golfing sugar figurine - Talk Sweet to Me

A couple photos of the finished cake:

Golfing cake from front - Talk Sweet to Me

Golfing cake from side - Talk Sweet to Me

It was fun to get to actually see people enjoy receiving their cakes this week, something that didn’t happen very often at Planet Cake since a lot of them were either deliveries or picked up on Saturdays, when most of us weren’t there.

We dropped off the cake at Grandpa’s house…

Grandpa McElherne sees cake - Talk Sweet to Me

…and I think he liked it!

Grandpa likes his golf cake - Talk Sweet to Me

Grandpa McElherne party - Talk Sweet to Me

My grandpa had friends over later that evening and planned to serve the cake to them for dessert. Somehow, though, they convinced him that it was too nice a cake to cut and that he should keep it in his china cabinet. I had to gently explain that cakes are made for eating, and if he didn’t cut and eat it pretty soon it would go bad and start to smell. We all ate some later that week and it was goooooood…

Signature - TalkSweetToMe.com

Leave a Reply

