21st Birthday Cake and Hibiscus Bridal Shower Cake

The following was originally posted on my first blog, The Planet Cake Intern, as I learned the art of cake decorating and began putting together the very first pieces of my cake business in Kansas City. 

Flashback - talksweettome.com

Originally posted June 2008

I made a couple of cakes recently and thought it was about time to post them. The first is a pink-themed exploding stars cake for a 21st birthday. They wanted the numbers to be candles instead of made out of icing, but the only number candles I could find had a green outline and colorful confetti on them. They were U-G-L-Y! I had to make a white and pink “faceplate” out of icing for the candles so they would go with the rest of the cake. Here ‘tis:

Pink 21 exploding stars cake - Talk Sweet to Me

I also made a tropical-theme cake for the fun of it because I had a few layers of cake leftover after a cake testing bake-a-thon. I wish my design drawings looked as nice as those that Antony and Jonny do. I’m working on it. Perhaps my first mistake is that I grab the nearest piece of paper when an idea or picture of a cake pops into my head and start drawing. This means it is often on the back of a piece of scratch paper, a post-it note, or in this case, a used envelope!

Cake design drawing - Talk Sweet to Me

Don’t tell Handi, but I forgot to look back at my notes from when he taught me to make a hibiscus flower, so looked at a bunch of flower photos and came up with my own version instead. My inspiration:

Hibiscus inspiration images

And the sugar version:

Pink sugar hibiscus flower - Talk Sweet to Me

Since I don’t have any petal cutters or silicone veiners yet, I made my own template for the hibiscus petals and leaves out of cardboard and used the back of a knife to make the veining pattern on the petals. Turns out I made the cardboard template just *slightly* too big…the flowers are really overly-massive. They turned out okay, though, as the focal point for a cake. I thought the yellow hibiscus looked better with this particular color combination:

Shower cake with yellow sugar hibiscus flower - Talk Sweet to Me

I was told that the cake looks like a hat, which it does, but that wasn’t exactly the plan. I think it might need a message on the board to look more complete.

Ta ta for now.

Signature - TalkSweetToMe.com

Leave a Reply

