Bookworm Birthday Cake – Step By Step

The following was originally posted on my first blog, The Planet Cake Intern, as I learned the art of cake decorating and began putting together the very first pieces of my cake business in Kansas City. 

Flashback - talksweettome.com

Originally posted July 26, 2008

I was delighted to have the chance to make a birthday cake for my friend Hannah (#32) from my soccer years…go Ames Flames! Her mom was having a pretty important birthday and she wanted to surprise her with “something different” for her birthday present – so contacted me to make a cake!

Hannah’s mom is a librarian and also loves to eat healthy food. We bounced around some ideas and finally came up with a cute little bookworm – complete with wire-rimmed glasses – coming out of an apple with a couple of books nearby:

Bookworm cake sketch - Talk Sweet to Me

I quickly went out to the store to buy the most perfect apple I could find to use as a model. GOR-geous.

apple

It is possible that this could have been done entirely of cake, with a board in the middle and dowels to support the top half of the apple. However, Hannah didn’t require that much cake and so I decided to do the bottom half in styro, top half in cake, with a dowel through the middle for support.

Ganached cake - Talk Sweet to Me

I had a momentary panic attack when covering this cake. One of the hardest cakes I ever covered was the soccer ball cake, and I was lucky that Handi was there to help me when I was doing that one. So, channeling some good Planet Cake vibes, I rolled out the icing a little bit thicker than normal to allow for some stretching around the shape and went to town. A little round piece was cut out of the red of the apple and I inserted black icing to make a hole for the worm to come out of.

Covered cake - Talk Sweet to Me

On to the books. These were made of cake with a cardboard base for support so that I would be able to set one at an angle.

Cutting cake for books

Ganaching…

Ganached books

I covered the sides with white and made marks for the pages first.

Covering book with fondant - pages

Then I added thicker icing overhanging the edges for the book cover.

Cake book - Talk Sweet to Me

Next I carved the styro for the worm and covered it with green icing. Then just added texture, wire-rimmed glasses (much harder to bend to shape than I thought they would be, by the way), and a face. My ninja brush was not cooperating. The black went on a little thicker than I would have liked, but ended up looking okay after some minor catastrophe-aversion techniques were employed.

Bookworm - Talk Sweet to Me

Next I added titles to the books and painted them gold.

Cake books finished - Talk Sweet to Me

Putting everything together…

Apple and bookworm cake from top - Talk Sweet to Me

…and the finished cake!

Bookworm cake - Talk Sweet to Me

My mom has been letting me use her fabulous silicone rolling pin. I told her how great it was and she immediately told me not to buy one because they (whoever ‘they’ are!) found toxic substances in them. I knew this could not possibly be true because Handi owns more than one, and surely if there were anyone who would know about those kinds of things, it would be Handi and the rest of the Planet Cake team (and they would have let me know about this on one of the days rolling pins came up in conversation, right?!). Turns out, this was her way of trying to get me to avoid buying one because she had one hidden away for me as a Christmas present. Anyway, Christmas came early this year, and I now have my very own bright red rolling pin.

Me with rolling pin

I’m one happy gal.

Signature - TalkSweetToMe.com

Leave a Reply

