Holiday Cupcake Donation Project

The following was originally posted on my first blog, The Planet Cake Intern, as I learned the art of cake decorating while living in Sydney, Australia.

Flashback - talksweettome.com

Originally posted December 2008

Last year’s Charity Cupcake drive at Planet Cake was a fantastic day, and although it turned out to be a bit more intense than I was expecting when I woke up that morning, I’d do it all over again at the drop of a hat. It was a great feeling to walk away at the end of the day, knowing that I’d been part of the 2,000 cupcakes donated by Planet Cake to Oz Harvest! Plus, we were famous, making it into the Sun-Herald…

Cupcakes for charity newspaper clipping

…those are my fabulous morning-session girls!

Because I was an intern at the time and volunteered to help, I arrived at Planet Cake about an hour early to help prepare the tables, set out equipment, color the icing, and just generally get ready for everything to come. I wasn’t exactly sure what else I was going to be doing that day, but two days earlier, I learned I would be in charge of getting 7-8 volunteers through their allotted cupcakes for each of the morning and afternoon sessions.

A close-up photo of some of the fun designs we made that day:

Holiday cupcake designs

After a general introduction by Paris, Handi started in with his instructional spiel to the table at my right, while Anna-Maria started in with instructions for her volunteers to my left. Since I’d never done any teaching before, I thought we were going to have a group instruction session before beginning…but unfortunately we were still getting ready when volunteers started arriving, so we all kind of missed that step and just jumped right into the day. Suddenly, I was in charge of getting my seven gals through 333 cupcakes in the next four hours! Working, working…

Cupcake production

We followed the leads of Handi and Anna-Maria, setting up an assembly-line of sorts…several girls ganaching the cupcakes, the next few covering them with icing, and the last ones putting on the final decorating touches. It was a great system, and so rewarding to start seeing those boxes start to pile up for Oz Harvest!

Snowman cupcakes

Look at Handi peeking into the picture behind me…always a great smile!!

The afternoon session went much smoother than the morning because I knew what to expect and how to proceed with the volunteers from ganached cupcakes to final decorated product. I had very fun groups of people to work with in both the morning and afternoon sessions…and was so grateful for their patience and enthusiasm as we worked through all 667 cupcakes!

The entire morning session group:

Cupcakes for charity2

The whole afternoon session group with cupcakes:

Cupcakes for charity

That’s a lot of cupcakes!

So what did I learn from the cupcake drive? That teaching decorating to others and managing volunteers is a whole new ballgame! It really made me appreciate both Handi and Anna-Maria’s teaching talents when I had the opportunity to sit in on their courses. By no means did I become an expert, but I learned a lot about working with people new to cake decorating and had a lot of fun in the process. And experienced just a peek into what it takes to put together such a massive volunteer effort.

The Planet Cake team hands the cupcakes over to Oz Harvest:

Paris and Oz Harvest

To any of you donating your cake-baking services over the holidays: More power to you! Have fun and tell me about it below!

Signature - TalkSweetToMe.com

Leave a Reply

